top of page

Conversation with Cassandra Hsiao

I recently had the pleasure to interview Cassandra Hsiao, a poet, playwright, and entertainment journalist! You can read our conversation below.

Masfi Khan: Thank you for joining us, Cassandra! How would you describe yourself in ten words?

Cassandra Hsiao: Thrill-seeker fangirl with a penchant for fuzzy socks and notebooks.

MK: Your beautiful college essay on your experiences as an immigrant resonates with many people. How did you approach writing such a personal piece with rhythmic quality and intertwining both the stories of yourself and your mother?

CH: Thank you! It definitely came from a personal place. At the time, I did not intend for it to be my college essay—it was just a small something to record down a snippet of life at home. I'm a fan of full circles and playing with language; I also love hearing stories about how my parents grew up and what they were doing at my age. I let my heart and mind be free while writing the essay, and the feedback from around the world has been incredible and humbling.

MK: In your blog, you’ve written some pieces about your parents. How have you been influenced by your family?

CH: Family is a huge part of my life. I wouldn't be able to do what I love without their sacrifice, support, love and prayers. They believe I can accomplish anything I set my mind and heart to.

MK: I love how vocal you are about Asian-American representation in media! How has being an entertainment journalist given you insight on the changing perceptions of Asian-Americans in the media?

CH: Unfortunately there are still not enough Asians on the carpet. When I do come across an Asian in the entertainment industry however, I always make sure to ask what their experience has been like. Benedict Wong from Doctor Strange had an answer that really resonated with me. He talked about promoting the productions that do champion diversity as a way to further discussion in Hollywood. "Let’s start championing the productions that we are making—the Fresh Off The Boat’s, the Dr. Ken’s, the Marco Polo’s, the Wong’s in Strange—when you put the focus on that, it lifts. We’re celebrating it. I understand the frustration but it’s about making the dialogue move to the gatekeepers... The more we keep doing that, the more we’ll start resonating what is the truth.”

It's my goal as both a journalist and content creator to change the conversation and create more characters of color on screen. What we see on page, on stage and on screen can either limit our imaginations for the possibilities in our lives, or expand it. If I see a girl who looks like me fighting bad guys, training to be a scientist, or dazzling the world with talent, I think to myself, I can do that too.

MK: As an accomplished poet and playwright, what processes do you go through when writing in both genres? How does the presence of the stage distinguish poems from plays?

CH: Part of the magic of theater is that there is a feeling of spontaneity watching the action fold right in front of you. Anything could happen, and the often intimate environment includes you in the action. The audience is unified in the rollercoaster of emotions, from crying to laughing to reflecting on the play's themes. I write my plays without a care in the world regarding formatting, and then in following drafts the contents of the play changes as I shape it into the proper format. A recent theme in my plays has been loss, although I do not purposely strive for unifying themes in my work.

As a poet, I am often inspired by the natural world, or the use of an object in an unconventional way. I very much value the unexpected in poetry—if I am describing a cliche scene or feeling, I try to look at the situation from an unusual point of view, whether that is through a minute detail or putting a spin on the emotion.

MK: This fall, you will be studying theater at Yale University. Congratulations! Are you currently considering any new projects? How do you feel the environment at Yale University will fuel your growth?

CH: Thank you so much! I am so excited to begin my future at Yale. I truly believe that Yale has a supportive, warm environment that really values the arts and collaboration across disciplines. I am looking forward to joining theater productions, dance troupes, Christian groups and cultural clubs on campus.

MK: What have you been reading or listening to lately?

CH: Reading: When Chickenheads Come Home to Roost by Joan Morgan—a fascinating exploration of feminism and hip-hop's collision. Morgan (who was my brilliant mentor at YoungArts) tells it like it is. Her humor and honesty dissect the values reflected in hip-hop and why hip-hop as a conversation starter could actually be the saving grace of the African-American population.

Listening: Hamilton, Dear Evan Hansen, La La Land, Twice.

MK: What would you like to tell teenage immigrants struggling with their identities?

CH: I struggled. We all do. You're not alone. Tell your story. Reach out to others. Don't be afraid to confront that feeling of displacement. And most importantly, don't let that feeling stop you from doing what you love and chasing your dreams.

I wrote a blog piece responding to critics who say I don't quite belong—anywhere. You can read it here.

Many thanks to Cassandra Hsiao for taking the time to talk to us!

 

Cassandra Hsiao will be attending Yale University in the fall to potentially major in Theater Studies and/or English to continuing telling an abundance of stories. Her poetry, fiction, memoirs and plays have been nationally recognized by the Scholastic Art and Writing Awards and the National YoungArts Foundation. She was chosen as a finalist for national playwriting competitions held by Writopia Labs, Princeton University, and YouthPLAYS. She also conducts print and on-camera interviews for multiple online outlets as a celebrity journalist.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page